Skip to content

Team Super Nate’s Pod Project: Check out how this JDRF family used their leftover OmniPod’s to create ornaments for their Christmas tree

December 22, 2010

Article from the Houston Family’s Blog

If you remember back in June I posted about the Houston family saving the world one pod at a time. I posted about the OmniPod recycling program and had pictures of the kiddos playing with the pods before we sent them off for recycling. Ringing any bells?

Anywho – – – clearly I’ve been inspired by Lee Ann over at The Butter Compartment and her diabetes art because the kids and I went POD CRAZY!!

I know that we are not the 1st or only family to decorate their OmniPods or make art from their diabetes supplies but my girls think we are so . . . shhhh! Don’t tell them that their idea was not original.

Last weekend we decided to make Christmas ornaments from Nate’s old pods instead of sending them in for recycling. We planned on decorating maybe 5 each but before I knew it we were having so much fun we had decorated almost all of them. I haven’t counted them all but I am guessing there’s are close to 100 decorated pods in my house right now.

They turned out REALLY cute – if I do say so myself.

My little artists decorating pods…

Some of the final products…

And here is our OrnaPod Tree in the playroom…

So, what to do – what to do with 100 +/- OrnaPods…

I thought about selling them for $1 each – all proceeds to go to Team Super Nate (JDRF Walk Team) but how many non-d peeps would really want to hang used life-saving medical equipment from their Christmas tree? Pods for the Cure!?!?!

Or offer them for free to my sweet friends in the DOC – anyone want a custom made OrnaPod? No worries – the girls wiped each and every one down with alcohol wipes so even if it was attached to Nate’s bum please know the only trace you will find is the faint smell of insulin. 🙂

View the Houston’s full blog posting.

Article from the Houston Family’s Blog

.

To learn more about the JDRF Dallas chapter, visit our JDRF Dallas website!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Lewis RN Diabetes Educator Waco TX permalink
    December 23, 2010 2:47 pm

    I wish I had known about the pods. I had been out for surgery for 3 months.
    I have young adults who have been badly in need of a pump and can’t afford one or don’t have insurance.
    To think so many are ornaments when they could have been put to good use.
    Please notify me anytime you have supplies to be donated.I know that my patients and some of the other educators patients in our area could use them.
    Please keep us in mind and have a very Mery Christmas. Thanks Nancy

    • Rhonda Vela permalink
      December 24, 2010 7:22 am

      Nancy, I am having a hard time grasping right now that you are a diabetes educator and would post such a comment.
      You do realize you cannot give your patients a POD to use as a pump without the PDM to go with it?

  2. December 23, 2010 5:51 pm

    Nancy, these are used pods that Laura is decorating. They cannot be re-used, and she usually sends them back to Omnipod for recycling. I think they are cute and festive and I’m a very proud owner of an Ornapod!

  3. December 23, 2010 10:53 pm

    Nancy – they are all used pods. The OmniPod can only be used for 3 days at a time. We would never waste medical equipment. We have two chronically ill children and do not have insurance so I completely understand the cost of it all.

  4. December 23, 2010 11:23 pm

    Yes Nancy, those pods were used by Super Nate himself. They cannot be used again. The Houston Family rocks! A WONDERFUL idea. I was the recipient of one of those magnificent Orna-Pods! It hangs proudly on my tree!!

  5. December 24, 2010 6:05 am

    I love the Ornapod!!! Thanks Houston Family!

Leave a Reply

