Skip to content

Hitting Diabetes Out of the Park with Drew Holder: Thank you to the Moms and Dads

May 31, 2011

I find it fitting to focus on parents of children with diabetes since Mothers day just passed and Fathers day is just around the corner. First and foremost, there are going to be difficult times, high blood sugars, low blood sugars, and times where you just don’t feel like what you are doing is enough, but know that perfection or a consistent “perfect” blood sugar 100% of the time is just not possible. Don’t get discouraged and know that the love and support you give your child is what equips them for conquering the “real” world with diabetes!

Drew as a child

What I remember from my childhood is not all of the instances that my blood sugar was high or low (although I did have my share), the day I was diagnosed, the finger pricks, etc, but the same things of any childhood memories… my parents and grandparents being at every game, quality time with my family, competing in sports, playing outside with friends, my first home run, vacations, camps, and so much more!

Drew with his family after a baseball game

My dad used to come in to my bedroom, as a teenage boy, and feel the back of my neck to see if I was sweating (a sure sign that I was low) and my mom consistently (but lovingly) asked me to check my blood sugar, told me I needed to eat more fiber, or even recently, telling me I might need to lower the basal rate on my pump. Realizing now, I may have acted irritated at the time, they loved and cared for me so much to do that which was best for me. My parents helped me realize that the better I ate, the more consistent exercise I got, and the more times I could test my blood sugar had a direct effect on establishing a healthy life with diabetes.

To children with diabetes… go easy on your parents and know that when they ask you to check your blood sugar, try to get you to eat something when you really are not hungry, or even tell you that you can’t eat or drink something you want… Your parents do this because they love you more than you will ever know and want what is best for you!

Drew with his parents and grandparents on Christmas Day

I hope you all had a blessed Memorial Weekend, and a special thank you to the many men and women who have sacrificed their lives for our country.

Let me know what you want to hear… I have many ideas as to what I would like to share with you, but want to ensure that I can write more about your interests. Therefore, I would love for you to email me specific topics, questions, or anything you are struggling with that I can try to include in future posts. You can post below or email me at drewholder24@yahoo.com.

.

To learn more about the JDRF Dallas chapter, visit our JDRF Dallas website!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

