Skip to content

Meet the JDRF Dallas Interns: Caitlin Waters

June 7, 2011

Meet Caitlin Waters! Caitlin is one of our summer interns here at JDRF Dallas and she is currently a student at Texas Tech University where she will begin her senior year as a Restaurant, Hotel, and Institutional Management major.

The JDRF Greater Dallas Chapter is thrilled to have Caitlin on board with us this summer. She will be assisting in many areas around the office including helping us with the upcoming Cliff Harris Golf Reunion Classic, the JDRF Walk Kick-Off and preparing for the Walk to Cure Diabetes. Read on to learn more about Caitlin.

Q: Could you tell us about your family?

“My family is so amazing. My dad works at Allstate Insurance. He is so easy going, smart and always knows how to make me laugh. I find myself wishing I had more of his characteristics. My mom is my best friend. She works at Insperity. She is so strong, hardworking and the best listener. I go to her for everything and I have always modeled myself after her.

My older brother, Austin, is 22 and just graduated from the University of Oklahoma with a degree in communications. He is currently in Barcelona for the month and to say I’m jealous is an understatement. My younger brother, Dylan, is 16 and goes to Coppell High School. He is so smart…we are hoping he will go to Harvard or Yale. My younger sister, Jenna, is 14 and goes to Coppell Middle School East. She is athletically gifted which I wish I was. She is also such a socialite and busy all the time.

I love my family so much. Although having a family of 6 can be overwhelming at times, I love always having them around!”

Q: When were you diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes?

“I can still remember the day I was diagnosed like it was yesterday. I began to feel very ill and lethargic so after a couple of days my mom decided I needed to go to the doctor.

As we were walking out the door my dad said to my mom “Don’t forget to mention Diabetes runs in our family”. My mom said back “Caitlin does not have Diabetes”. After 3 simple questions and a finger prick later I was being transported to Children’s Hospital where I was officially diagnosed as having Diabetes.”

Q: What have been some of your biggest challenges being Type 1?

“When I was in middle school I had a very rough year. My Diabetes was so out of control and the doctors couldn’t figure out why. I ended up having 9 grand-mal seizures in one year.

I remember one day just laying in bed with my mom bawling my eyes out saying “Why me? If God really loved me he wouldn’t make me have this stupid disease!” I remember my mom telling me “Caitlin, God loves you very much and he made you have this disease because he knows you can handle it, and you just have to prove to him you can.”

Somehow my mom always knew what to say to make things better. Since that year, I have not let Diabetes stand in my way. I got hooked up with the right doctors and I have been doing great since then. I am now on an insulin pump and it truly has transformed my life.”

Q: What brought you to JDRF?

“After being diagnosed with diabetes my parents did research online and came across JDRF.  We have been volunteering as a family since I was diagnosed. I chose to intern with JDRF because I wanted to do something in the event planning field which JDRF does and also because this is obviously something close to my heart and I am truly passionate for it.”

Q: What has been the most exciting thing to ever happen to you?

“My dad and brother were on the show Who Wants to be a Millionaire when Regis Philbin was still hosting and they ended up making it to the hot seat where they walked away with $125,000. That was so awesome and they even donated some of it to JDRF!”

After graduating from Texas Tech University, Caitlin hopes to pursue a career in the event planning industry.

Caitlin would love to answer any questions you may have for her especially about how she manages living with diabetes. You can respond or ask questions by leaving a comment below or email her directly at dallasintern@jdrf.org.

.

To learn more about the JDRF Dallas chapter, visit our JDRF Dallas website!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

