Skip to content

Meet the JDRF Dallas Interns: Haley Cole

June 16, 2011

Meet Haley Cole!  Haley is one of our summer interns here at JDRF Dallas and she just recently graduated from Baylor University with a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature.

{Last week we introduced you to our intern Caitlin Waters. If you missed it, be sure to check out her interview}

The JDRF Greater Dallas Chapter is excited to have Haley on board with us this summer. She will be assisting in many areas around the office including helping us with the upcoming Cliff Harris Golf Reunion Classic, the JDRF Walk Kick-Off and preparing for the Walk to Cure Diabetes. Read on to learn more about Haley.

Q: What brought you to JDRF?  

“My dad and my younger sister are type 1 diabetics and we have been involved with JDRF for a long time, participating in walks and other events.  I was looking for an internship at a nonprofit organization when my mom saw that JDRF was looking for summer interns.  I already knew what amazing work JDRF is doing towards finding a cure and I wanted to be a part of that process.”

Q: Could you tell us about your family?

“My family is extremely important to me.  My dad is a real estate developer who is currently building privately owned dormitories for universities.  In his spare time he races vintage cars at race tracks in Texas and Oklahoma.  My mom is a stay at home mom who works incredibly hard to keep our family functioning.  My sister, Allison, is 18 and just graduated from high school and in the fall will be going to Baylor (sic ‘em) where she will study business.”

Q: What is your connection to Type 1?

“My dad was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when he was 21 years old and my sister was diagnosed when she was 4 years old. This disease is strangely normal to my family since it has been such a huge part of our lives.”

“Even though my dad had diabetes long before, I still had to make major adjustments to my life when my sister was diagnosed. Suddenly I adjusted my eating habits to fit with hers so that she would not feel different, I learned how to prick her finger and give shots, and I became familiar with how to help her if she became low.”

“I was eager to help in this transition process because even as an 8 year old, I understood the major changes my sister would have to live with. Both my dad and my sister are incredibly strong and responsible about managing their diabetes and are eager to inform others about this disease.”

Q: What has been the most exciting thing to ever happen to you?

“I am a huge fan of the band Switchfoot. A couple of years ago I got to go to one of their concerts and go to their sound check and talk with each of the guys individually! It was amazing!  I have since met them several other times and now when I see them they recognize me… Dream come true!”

Q: If you could jump on a plane and travel anywhere, where would you go?

“I desperately want to go to Europe, specifically Italy and Spain. I love architecture and I think it would be spectacular to be able to see in person the buildings that have covered my bedroom walls in pictures.”

Q: What do you want to do after finishing your internship with JDRF?

“After my internship with JDRF is finished I would like to find a job with a nonprofit organization. I would also like to continue my education in American Sign Language and pursue becoming a certified Sign Language Interpreter. I started taking ASL my junior year of college and I fell in love with it. I would enjoy having the opportunity to learn more.”

Haley would love to answer any questions you may have for her. You can respond or ask her a question by leaving a comment below or email her directly at dallasintern2@jdrf.org.

.

To learn more about the JDRF Dallas chapter, visit our JDRF Dallas website!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

