Skip to content

Elizabeth invites you to become a JDRF Advocate TODAY!

January 19, 2012

Our beloved JDRF advocate Elizabeth Roosevelt tells why she is a JDRF advocate and explains how simple it is for you to join her!

Hi – I am Elizabeth Roosevelt. I am 9 years old and was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when I was 5. I am in the third grade, I love to dance and read and I am an advocate for JDRF. And I need you to become an advocate too!

Kim and Elizabeth Roosevelt

You might be asking what an advocate is – well, its really simple, it is just someone who  is willing to stand up for a cause that they believe in and ask their legislators to stand up for that cause too! I have done this many times with my family. We have attended meetings with our legislators in our home town to tell them about type 1 diabetes and my mom and I went to Washington DC two years ago with JDRF for a “Children’s Congress” where we met President Obama and other legislators. My mom also makes calls and writes letters to our legislators when special issues related to diabetes come up.

JDRF has a great advocacy team already in place, in fact Time Magazine called JDRF’s grassroots advocacy efforts one of the most effective disease advocate groups in the nation and in recent years, JDRF advocates actually shut down the White House switchboard! But we need your help too!

Registering to be a JDRF Advocate is super simple. You can visit the JDRF Advocacy website and sign up or you can simply text the word ‘ACTION’ to 37420.

Your one voice can and will make a difference in the lives of people with diabetes, like myself. Will you please join me in the fight to find a cure today?

.

To learn more about the JDRF Dallas chapter, visit our JDRF Dallas website!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carla Thomas permalink
    January 19, 2012 2:24 pm

    Elizabeth,
    I’m SOOOOO excited that you have become an official blogger for JDRF…and I LOVE what you’ve written so far! I’ll be interested in following your journey!

    xoxo,
    Nurse Carla

Leave a Reply

