Skip to content

Raise Awareness by Sharing Your Story

March 1, 2012

As a parent or family member of someone living with type 1 diabetes or if you, yourself, are living with the disease, often times you might be asked to share your story: the diagnosis, struggles, adjustments, school challenges or college years. As advocates, the diabetes community should remember the effect that we can have by sharing our stories with one another and those who have no idea about what life is like with T1D.

Spreading awareness brings understanding to those around us and can ultimately translate into a larger advocate system and mean more dollars raised for important research. You may not have a blog, or lead a support group, but there are many ways to share your story of living with T1D. Below are some ideas to get you started!

DFW Thrive Magazine, Dallas Child and North Texas Child all feature their own article of Mommy Diaries: A Day in the Life of…, in each issue. Share your story with readers who may not know about T1D by sending in your diary of a day. Learn more on their websites – Thrive, Dallas Child, North Texas Child.

JDRF wants to know Who’s Your #1. We want to hear about your #1 – the person or people you are most passionate to see cured – whether it’s yourself, a family member, friend, student, or other. JDRF would really like to hear from you.  Share your story on the JDRF website.

Share your story to fundraise! This year for the Walk to Cure Diabetes, reach a whole new level of donors by sharing your story through video, email or writing a letter to send my snail mail. Your story can inspire those who may have never met you to give for a cause they may know nothing about. Have each your friends and family members who have always donated pass on your story to 5 others. You’ll be amazed at the support you receive and you will have shared your story of what it’s like to live everyday with T1D.

Take some time this week to spread awareness, inspire others and share your story!


To learn more about the JDRF Dallas chapter, visit our JDRF Dallas website!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 12:07 am

    You know, I think of type 1 as just as much of a blessing as a curse. I was diagnosed at the age of 12, back in 1972, when there were no glucose meters, no sensors, and you had to put big lye pills in a urine sample in a test tube. I consider myself lucky that I have little retinopathy and no neuropathy. It was type 1 that reminded me that I’m not bulletproof. When after college I put on 10 pounds, then 20, then 30, I woke up one morning to find out I was 50 pounds overweight and couldn’t walk up the stairs. My sugars were also out of control. In 2003, my wife and I resolved to fix the weight issue, and we started working out. I discovered by accident that one of the best things for keeping blood sugars level is the diet and exercise management that’s required to stay fit. Three years later, in 2006, I had lost all the weight and gone through two wardrobe changes. I looked and felt better. In 2009 I ran my first half marathon, and I have run four since then. I have set many personal records in the process, and even medaled in my age group at the 2010 DFW ADA Walk to Cure Diabetes timed 5K, with a time of just over 26 minutes and an 8:25 minute / mile pace. This year I plan to run my first full marathon and I am never looking back.

    I like to say that until there’s a cure for type 1, I’ll run from it.

Leave a Reply

